2019 Science Events



 January

 
 Friday, January 11
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
"Potential for Restoring Earths Ecosystem" - Dr. Holly Jones
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine - Room 126

 Friday, January 18
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“How the Astrobiology of Meteorites is Creating Next Generation Hard Drives” - Dr. Heshan Illangkoon
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine - Room 126
 Saturday, January 19 MuAlphaTheta Math Competition
 Friday, January 25
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“New Frontiers in Radiation Oncology-Proton Therapy” - Dr. Tim Williams
GN102 (SE 43 for Reception)

 February

 
 Friday, February 1
 2:00 pm - 3:20 pm
Geosciences Colloquium Series
“Preparation for Employment as a Scientist” - Dr. Dorothy Sifuentes
SE 417
 Monday, February 4
 
CMBB Seminar Series
Dr. Matt Hemberger, Analytical Leader, GSK
 Friday, February 8
 3:30 pm - 5:30pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“Mating Between Species: Why Do It, and What Are the Consequences?” - Dr. Kate Detwiler
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine - Room 126
 Saturday, February 9
 TBA
 
Florida Women in Mathematics Day
FAU, Boca Raton
 Monday, February 11
 
3:30 pm - 4:50 pm
CMBB Seminar Series
"Roles of TP53 in Regulation of Pancreatic Cancer" - Dr. James McCubrey
Boca EE-106 
Questions? Contact Marjorie Cazeau (mcazeau@fau.edu)
 Friday, February 15
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“Biomedical Imaging: Extending the Powers of Human Observation” - Dr. Elizabeth Brainerd
GN102 (SE 43 for Reception)
 Friday, February 15
 
TBA
 
Florida GeoGebra Conference 2019
Pompano Beach Senior High School
 Saturday, February 16
 
TBA
Florida GeoGebra Conference 2019
Florida Atlantic University
 Monday, February 18
 
3:30 pm - 4:50 pm
CMBB Seminar Series
Dr. Marie-Louise Hammarskjold
Location: Boca EE-106
Questions? Contact Marjorie Cazeau (mcazeau@fau.edu)
 Saturday, February 23
 
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Science Olympiad
FAU Boca Raton - Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Questions? Contact Tim Theisen (ttheisen@fau.edu)
 Monday, February 25
 
3:30 pm - 4:50 pm

CMBB Seminar Series
Mr. Joseph L. Mauro
Location Boca EE-106
Questions? Contact Marjorie Cazeau (mcazeau@fau.edu)

 March

 
 Friday, March 1
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“How to Keep Your Genome Secret” - Dr. Kristin Lauter
GN102 (SE 43 for Reception)
 March 4-8
 
TBA
Southeastern International Conference - Combinatorics, Graph Theory, and Computing
 Monday, March 11
 
3:30 pm - 4:50 pm
CMBB Seminar Series
"Molecular mechanisms of synapse assembly and homeostasis" - Dr. Mihaela Serpe
Location Boca EE-106
Questions? Contact Marjorie Cazeau ( mcazeau@fau.edu )
 Friday, March 15
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“'Watching' Proteins in Fast Motion" - Dr. Feng Gai
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science - Room 126
 Monday, March 18
 
3:30 pm - 4:50 pm
CMBB Seminar Series
Dr. Emily Wroblewski
Location Boca EE-106
Questions? Contact Marjorie Cazeau (mcazeau@fau.edu)
 Friday, March 22
 
2:00 pm - 3:20 pm
Geosciences Colloquium Series
"Floridan aquifer system framework" - Dr. Viviana Diaz
SE 417

 April

 
 Friday, April 5
 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Frontiers in Science Public Lecture Series
“Our Place in the Universe” - Dr. Jason Kalirai
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science - Room 126

 Friday, April 5
 
8:30 am - 1:30 pm

Graduate Research Day
Boca Raton Campus Rec Center

 Saturday, April 6
 
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Inquiry-Based Learning Workshop
FAU, Boca Campus

 Monday, April 8
 
1:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Environmental Science Retreat
Alumni Center, Boca Raton Campus

 Monday, April 8
 TBA

Undergraduate Research Symposium
Boca Raton Campus

 Friday, April 19
 
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Frontiers in Science with Dr. Vicki Sarajedini
"Exploring the Connection Between Galaxies and Supermassive Black Holes"
South Florida Science Center and Aquarium 

 May 

 

 Friday, May 3
 5:00 pm
Commencement Ceremony
Live Oak Pavilion 
 Wednesday, May 8th
 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Future Doctors Reception
Acura Club, Athletic complex 
 Monday, May 20
 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Fifth International Conference on Computational and Mathematical Population Dynamics
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
   

 June

 

 Saturday, June 8
 
10:00 am - 4:00 pm

"Keep the Sea Plastic Free"
FAU Harbor Branch Celebrates World Oceans Day

 Thursday, June 20
 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Research in Action with Science Dean, Dr. Ata Sarajedini
"The Formation and Evolution of Our Galaxy"
Downtown Library Boca Raton

 

Featured

ASK

ASK A SCIENTIST AT FAU

Scientists at FAU discuss their research with Science Dean, Dr. Ata SarajediniListen Here.

 

View our past events here